Stolen Flowers: A Tale of Woe


I have a case of stolen flowers on my hands. Or, a stolen flower pot, as my almost-always-politically-correct father reminded me. They were gifted last Saturday. Not completely flowered yet. Teeny tiny buds of promise.

With love and care, my mother watered them last evening and hung them up out on our front porch.

That was yesterday.

This morning, they were gone. Just as suddenly as she had fallen in love with their innocent splendor; just that suddenly, she had been left broken-hearted.

With a mopey face, she wandered around all day today, mourning her lost children.

And, here I wonder, which evil child of Satan was cruel enough to steal a bunch of flowers?! I agree that we are in the middle of a recession. That we have to face high gas prices. That jobs are not aplenty. But stealing a flower pot in the middle of the night is perhaps a characteristic that can be attributed to one without a conscience. 

I hope, Monsieur/Mademoiselle Thief (Yes, that is exactly what you are. A goddamn thief), that you may never be content for denying my mother a simple joy that had her smiling yesterday. I hope that you can’t sleep at night because you are haunted by the screams of the tiny lives that you have separated from their rightful owner. I hope that you never die a happy person.

 

And, if a person is capable of stealing flowers, what else are they capable of?

10 Comments

Filed under anecdote

10 responses to “Stolen Flowers: A Tale of Woe

  1. mythelenilesvos

    stealing those flowers were too rude. hope i can give your mom some flowers straight from the philippines :)

  2. Kevin Brodie (@ksbhsi51) commented on Twitter at 5:15 PM on June 4th 2010: I can’t believe some idiot took your mom’s flowers. What, there were no puppies to kick or seniors to shove down a stairwell?

    My response: Apparently, stealing flowers is in vogue in southern Ontario. My friend in Hamilton had two flower pots stolen in one night.
    (And, it’s true too.)

  3. Varun

    I really enjoy your writing! Defintiely a productive way to deal with such a tragedy.

    And I find the clip art of the theif exceptionally amusing.

    • Hey Varun,

      I am glad you liked it! I know what you mean. Apparently, mom couldn’t stop smiling after reading this post :)

      And, doesn’t it seem like the thief is actually getting yelled at?

  4. Mom

    Thanks, at last I can sleep in peace.

  5. Pingback: Stolen Flowers: A Tale of Woe | Γονείς σε Δράση

  6. Neil

    When I saw this on facebook I wished there was a better and more flexible term than “like”
    I also find it horribly wrong within my self that I find Satan in the key words funny.

    • Thank you, Neil. You were always very kind to me. And, to have you comment on my blog, makes me tres happy :)

      As for “Satan”, you will be surprised how many people google the term. And when you are a newbie blogger like me, tags, my friend, become your best friends.

Leave a Reply

